Gluten Free Products. Look for the “Certified Gluten-Free” label on products for gluten-free certainty. You can trust items with this label are guaranteed gluten-free. In addition to products with this label, gluten-free products can be found naturally, throughout the grocery store, in all major food groups, including fruits, vegetables, protein foods, grains and dairy.
Fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. You can load up on these when shopping and not only benefit from gluten-free, but also obtain many, many vitamins and minerals, which help prevent diseases such as heart disease and certain types of cancer. Canned and frozen fruits and vegetables should also be gluten-free, but always check the labels to be sure in case flavorings or seasonings containing gluten have been added. Certain grains and starches do not contain gluten. These are rice, quinoa, amaranth, lentils, peas, corn, white potatoes and sweet potatoes. Beyond these grains, the grocery store shelves are filled with “gluten-free” products to help provide more grain choices.
Protein sources from meats, eggs, beans and tofu are naturally gluten-free. Monitor any meats which have been injected or seasoned to be sure they carry a “gluten-free” label. Purchasing proteins in their natural state, and seasoning these items at home, is a good way to avoid hidden gluten. Dairy products such as plain yogurt, cheeses, butter and milk are naturally gluten-free. Again, watch for additives, and read labels to be sure you are purchasing gluten-free yogurts and cheeses.